All You Need is Heart


These hearts are taking longer than I expected! I’ve tried several different methods, too. Here’s the break down:

1) The pattern calls for felting, so I grabbed a ball of Caron Felt-It I had laying around. I’m not overly fond of the yarn, so I’m happy to have a project I can use it up on. Since I didn’t want the hearts to be oversized, I used size 6 needles instead of the size 9s the yarn recommends. This helped me get gauge, but I forgot that tight stitches makes for bad felting. (see below). I knit two sides flat to felt, then sew up like the pattern states.

2) I thought knitting in the round would work, but as I neared the bind-off, I realized I’d have to pack the heart with filling before felting, which isn’t optimal. Regardless, i went ahead and did it.

THEN, I felted. Ugh, they just fuzzed up no matter how long I left them or hot the water or how many clothes I stuffed in for agitation.

3) I knit some flat and decided to forget felting. They look cute.

4) I tried knitting in the round again, sans felting, but the edging doesn’t look as nice.

5) I decided to turn them into little candy pouches, so now I’m knitting flat and not sewing the tops up. I’m giving them a little handle, like an ornament. I think this is the win.

Pre-felting:IMG_2506
Post-felting:IMG_2507

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sunny
    Feb 11, 2008 @ 12:51:37

    you are so cool and talented.

    Reply

  2. RD
    Feb 11, 2008 @ 23:18:07

    I agree with Sunny. I also love the way you’ve solved the whole heart/head dichotomy. 😉
    Seriously, though, how difficult is the heart project? My daughter is 9, and she would love to make the hearts, but she’s an absolute beginner (with only a kit she got for her birthday). Would she be able to handle this?

    Reply

  3. Heather Narbit
    Feb 12, 2008 @ 09:04:34

    If your daughter knows how to increase and has some basic sewing skills, she’d be able to do it very easily.

    If she’s not used to reading knitting patterns, let me know. I can write out a “real world” explanation.

    Reply

  4. Shireen
    Feb 16, 2008 @ 23:31:24

    Is there anything you can’t do? You are so talented and a genius.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

