Ravelry

vickiehowelljess

To all of you new knitters and crocheters, to all of you long-time knitters and crocheters and to all of you soon-to-be knitters and crocheters:

You MUST, MUST, MUST sign up for an account at Ravelry. It’s sort of a MySpace, Flickr, pattern store, organizational hybrid. You can do as little or as much as you want: search for patterns, see how other people’s projects turned out, see new yarns, dialog with others who have similar interests, and the list goes on, and on, and on.

One of my favorite things about Ravelry is that you can start a projects queue. I’m forever looking at things and saying, “I want to make that.” Now, when I see something I want to make, I stick it in my queue so I’ll remember. When I feel like starting a new project, I skim through my queue and my favorites to see what I have the yarn for, or what I have the yearn for. (hyuck, hyuck)

Since Ravelry’s still in beta, invitations are passed out in batches, so you won’t get immediate access. The wait isn’t too bad, though, and it’s completely worth it.

If you’re already on Ravelry, drop me a line!

(The picture for today’s post is a screenshot of my inbox with two messages I’ve been saving. Vickie Howell is one of my crafting heroes, and Jess – aka frecklegirl – is the co-founder of Ravelry. I was so happy when they friended me back. I often friend people on Ravelry so that I can read their blogs easily, yet another feature on this AMAZING web site.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. twistedtexan
    Feb 23, 2008 @ 22:11:58

    Ravelry is amazing. I love that I can look at my stash and say “I have 2 skeins of ‘insert-yarn-here’. I wonder what I can do with it?” and have immediate access to an entire library of other people’s projects with said yarn.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

