For whom the knitter knits

I’ve noticed a trend in my knitting. The seasons dictate for whom I knit. I learned to knit to make gifts, and I gave away all of my early projects: baby blankets, baby sweaters, baby hats, baby booties. In fact, baby items were another trend in and of themselves.

Now, however, with patterns so easy to find through Ravelry.com and with my subscription to Interweave Knits, I see things that I want to make for me. Case in point, I’m nearing completion of my very first adult sweater. It’s made from a lovely red cotton blend (cotton, silk and rayon). There are cables down the back and front panels, and the cardigan construction is fairly simple. I’m working on the front bands right now, then I’ll do the sleeves and finish stitching it all up. I can’t wait.

I’ve realized that no one appreciates my handknit items than me. I love the socks I’ve made, I’ve delighted in my new scarf, and I look forward to wearing my neckwarmer. Part of me is sad that I haven’t made more things for me to enjoy, but part of me feels selfish for making things for myself, as if all my knitting time should be devoted to gifts. I mean, the process of creating is itself enjoyable to me, so why do I deserve the double pleasure of keeping the finished good?

I think the answer to the conundrum is a middle road. There’s a healthy balance of knitting for others and keeping things for ourselves. Instead of saving all of my Christmas projects until November, I should space them out and intersperse them amid my personal knitting.

So that being said, I’m making a baby blanket for my nephew-to-be. I didn’t finish my niece’s blanket until she was born. I was a much slower knitter then. I’m about 1/3 finished with my nephew’s blanket and I have months to spare until he’s here. I’m making it out of some admittedly cheap yarn, but it’s so soft I can buck up and ignore its artificial origins. If you haven’t felt “Pitter Patter” by Hobby Lobby’s Baby Bee line, then give it a try. It feels like chenille even though it’s polyester.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. twistedtexan
    Mar 11, 2008 @ 19:24:25

    I’ve tallied up my projects and it looks like it’s about 50% gift knitting/crocheting, 50% stuff to keep. I’d say that’s pretty darn balanced. 😉

    And I’ve come to learn that the only person who truly appreciates a hand-knit gift is another knitter. So, um, feel free to toss something my way! (kidding. sort of. hee!)

    Reply

  2. Heather Narbit
    Mar 11, 2008 @ 19:33:57

    🙂 Your projects look better than mine, though! I’m going to guard my cabled cardigan! I’m so close to finishing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

