FO: My first sweater!



(To explain knitting parlance, an “FO” is a “finished object” and UFO is an “unfinished object.)

I finished my first sweater, and I’m in love with it. I fear it makes me look a bit boxy, but I love it regardless. The intricate cables were a challenge, and I think they really dress up what would otherwise be a fairly simple pattern.

I need your help picking buttons. If you’re reading this, then please leave me a comment as to whether I should go with the silver (in the center of the button row) or red (at the bottom). There are detail pictures below. The pattern intended for the sweater to be worn open, but I’d like the option of buttons.

If I had it to do over again, I would have made the smaller size or I would have at least paid more attention to possible size modifications to suit me a bit better. For my first garment, however, I think it’s a smashing success (not to brag)!

Silver button: IMG_2922
Red button:IMG_2927
Some detail of the back:
IMG_2918

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MrPuffy
    Mar 14, 2008 @ 16:20:06

    That is just beautiful on you! I would go with the red buttons because the sweater pattern is “busy” enough and the silver buttons might detract from the beautiful cable work. I’m just about to start a cable sweater with this yarn and that’s how I found you on Ravelry! It is a smashing success – well done!

    Reply

  2. Heather Narbit
    Mar 14, 2008 @ 18:48:27

    Thanks for your feedback on the buttons! I rejected a lot of beautiful buttons just because of the reason you pointed out, I don’t want to detract from the cables.

    What are you going to make with the Stella? I really like the way it knits up. The stitch definition is nice, and the silk makes the cotton even better. My only complaint is that it splits really easily (which I guess is just what cotton does) and many of my balls had splices – some four or five knots. Overall, though, I like it a lot.

    Thanks for sharing your opinion. Part of me knows you’re right, but the other part wants the pretty shiny silver buttons. 🙂 We’ll see whether Jekyll or Hyde wins.

    Reply

  3. twistedtexan
    Mar 14, 2008 @ 20:32:15

    Congrats on your first sweater! It looks fantastic, and I really love the cables.

    And I’m afraid that I have to vote for the silver buttons. 😉

    Reply

  4. Heather Narbit
    Mar 15, 2008 @ 06:44:56

    Thanks! I’m sick again this week (a virus now), so I didn’t take time to fix myself up for the picture. I think I may work on the seaming a bit to make it more flattering, but I’m really happy with it.

    Reply

  5. knitaroo
    Mar 15, 2008 @ 08:36:14

    The sweater is gorgeous. You look so dainty in it. The cables are striking.

    I think I prefer the silver buttons. They somehow seem like they tie in with the cabling, rather than detract. That said, I tend to use metal buttons a LOT, so my opinion is probably biased. 😉

    Reply

  6. Susan
    Mar 16, 2008 @ 09:06:05

    I prefer the silver buttons.

    Reply

  7. ReneeR
    Apr 02, 2008 @ 05:49:19

    I love it. It’s sooooo nice to have a first that is sooooo pleasing, isn’t it? Knit on!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

