Stirring the creative pot

I don’t consider myself much of a cook. I’m really good at following recipes, but I can’t create out of thin air. My knitting is much the same. I can read a pattern, but the thought of even coming up with my own colors terrifies me. I’d much rather look at the picture and make THAT instead of having to invent color combinations and do the math to make adjustments.

Sometimes you have to make changes to make yourself happy, though. I found that with the cardigan I made. Instead of letting it be entirely shapeless, I put a bit of a waist in. I added three button holes because I knew I didn’t want it constantly draping off of me. Not rocket science, but it scared me a tad, being my first knit garment.

That being said, look at Cristi’s Ivy League Vest. I can’t even imagine inventing my own color scheme since the original is so beautiful. Maybe I’m giving this so much thought simply because I’ve wanted to knit this since I first saw it. The vest is also steeked, egads! Steeking, for those who haven’t heard the terrifying word, is a technique common in Nordic sweaters where you knit a complicated Fair Isle tube and then cut into it to make armholes (typically). I haven’t looked at the pattern, but I think the V-neck in the vest is all that’s steeked. Can you imagine? Cristi had help from the famous Stephanie Pearl-McPhee! If only we were all so lucky!

So, on the theme of cooking, here’s an improvised week of meals my husband and I enjoyed:

Day 1: Roasted Veggie Pitas

Day 2: Use pizza sauce, mozzarella and leftover veggies to make mini-pizzas on top of the leftover pita.

Day 3: Heather’s Fabulous Alfredo Pasta
This requires even more leftover veggies (that first recipe makes a LOT), farfalle noodles, pan-fried chicken and an alfredo sauce recipe. I just cooked the chicken with some home-grown herbs and lightly coated it with some bread crumbs. I tossed the veggies into the sauce about 5 minutes before serving. Yum! We’re still eating the leftovers from this!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. turtlegirl76
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 07:54:42

    Substituting the colors in Ivy League was a lot easier than you think. Most of the colors were “background” colors and I did not change those at all. The only ones I changed were the “Main” colors. I went from turquoise to rusty red/orange colors. That one simple change made a world of difference. =)

    And making that first cut while SPM held my vest, oh God. I was shaking so hard!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

