Sometimes You Have to Have Faith




IMG_3039

Originally uploaded by knitandwit

Look at this mess! I have a gi-normous stockinette purse with these messy little stars all over it. Somehow, through the miracle of felting, it will turn into a beautiful, shapely purse. And I have faith in that process. After I snip some ends, then throw everything into the wash, it will come out OK. There’s a metaphor for life in there somewhere.

The trouble is I want to do this NOW, but I’m in the middle of packing to leave early, early tomorrow morning! I delayed packing so that I could finish knitting the branch. I finished the little flowers on the bus home yesterday.

Maybe the bus is the key to that metaphor I’m looking for. While I was waiting for my commute home, I was tapping my foot impatiently and frowning at the passing traffic. My bus stop isn’t in the best part of town, so I’m typically on guard. A homeless man came by digging for recyclables in the trash, and of course there was a can right near where I was sitting. I was worried when he spoke directly to me, but as I turned to hear better, he was grinning at me. “Don’t you frown, ma’am. Tomorrow’s always a better day.” It lifted my spirits, and I was happy to take encouragement from such a nice guy. It reminded me to be more conscious of my good life, to enjoy the comfort and peace I have, and maybe spread it around a bit. It all comes out in the wash, right?

This purse was a fun and easy knit, and it was much faster than I expected. The picture of Noni’s official product looks so intricate; I never thought I’d actually finish making this bag when I first bought the pattern. Oddly, it only took a week or so of intermittent knitting to finish the pieces. Once I felt them, I realize there will be a lot of work sewing everything together, then attaching some handles, maybe lining it. I’m looking forward to picking out some stunning handles.

I’ll be away most of next week, but look for me on the Letterman show Monday night! No, I’m not a guest, but I’ll be in the audience watching the stupid pet tricks!

Leave a Reply

