Yarn shop review: Upstairs Studio

Sometimes it’s easy to look at a map and convince yourself something’s closer than it really is. La Porte isn’t THAT far from my suburb. When you compare it to, say, Beaumont, I guess it’s close. But then again, I’m spoiled. Almost anything I need or want is within 5 miles of my house. It’s only yarn that I have to travel for. My closest yarn store is 20 miles away. When you put it into that scope, Upstairs Studio is really fairly close.

The store is in the middle of old town La Porte. There are a number of interesting boutiques and stores lining West Main, and as someone who used to be afraid to leave “the Loop,” I was impressed. It’s the perfect setting for wandering the street looking for treasures; and just around the corner was Upstairs Studio.

I was greeted by Earl, who demonstrated a spinning wheel for me and explained the theory. I really want to take a class now. They have beautiful roving for spinning or needle felting. They have some amazing examples of things that can be made by felting.

The yarn selection isn’t huge, but it’s unique. There’s a lot of Elizabeth Lavold and a few European brands I haven’t seen. The sock yarn is mainly self-striping, Trekking for instance. There are some novelty yarns and ribbon yarns mixed in, too, and a lot of Brown Sheep Company offerings. There are some hand-dyed, too, which was hard to resist! Especially the Madelinetosh stuff.

The shop is very welcoming, and I highly recommend visiting.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristen
    Jun 16, 2008 @ 09:17:13

    Hmm… I think I need to take a trip to La Porte! šŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Kate
    Jul 23, 2008 @ 16:55:22

    me too! I live too close not to stop by also.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

