Inspiration ruined

I took a beautiful picture of my current project with plans for blogging about it, but now I can’t find my photo card adapter. And since I never use the cable for the camera, I can’t find it either. C’est la vie, n’est ce pas?

So, in an effort to keep me from going any longer without updating my blog, I’m phoning one in and sharing with you my list of all-time favorite podcasts, knitting-related and non-knitting.

 What’s on Heather’s iPod:

Knitting:

1. Stash and Burn – a must! Jenny and Nicole are hilarious, smart and fabulous knitters.

2. Ready Set Knit – Kathy and Steve crack me up with their spouse banter, and it’s the best place to find out about Webs sales (that’s why I’m waiting for a box of discontinued Noro Kureyon to show up soon)!

3. CRL with Vickie Howell – Fellow Texas-inhabitant Vickie Howell is the queen of crafty, and I lurve her!

4. Cast On – I haven’t listened to Brenda in awhile simply because I have so many others to stay up with, but I love her soothing voice and witty observations.

5. Doubleknit – I have to admit I haven’t listed to this yet. I ONLY just now subscribed. I didn’t realize Jessica from Rose-Kim Knits was doing a podcast until just this week. I have the highest hopes, though, if it’s anything like her blog.

I’ve tried a few other knitting podcasts, but either wasn’t enamored with the host, the content, the style or the frequency of publication, but I hope that some of you have some suggestions for other podcasts I’d like!

General podcasts:

1. This American Life – Need I say more?

2. Wait, Wait … Don’t Tell Me! – NPR’s weekly news quiz show; the best laugh on the radio!

3.  WNYC’s Radio Lab – It’s about science and philosophy in ways you wouldn’t expect; give it a try despite my bad explanation.

4. Slate Magazine Daily Podcast – And the Explainer and Slate V Video. I would read anything Slate takes the time to publish, and I’d listen to anything they take the time to produce! The weekly political gabfest is gold.

5. The Sound of Young America – Maximum Fun! Lots of musicians, comedians and writers. Jesse Thorn has a great interview technique, and he’s hilarious.

6. Word for Word –  APM’s weekly speech series; it’s wonderful to hear straight from sources what they’re thinking.

7. The Onion Radio News – for laughs! The Onion News Network videos are hilarous, too.

8.  The News From Lake Wobegon – It doesn’t get better than listening to Garrison Keillor.

8. The Story – Dick Gordon does great long-format interviews with interesting folks and everyday people.

9. The Lost podcast – currently on summer hiatus, but highly entertaining

And finally, this video podcast is all about DIY crafts:  Threadbanger

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joyce
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 20:22:56

    Hey Heather! Half the stuff you have on your iPod I also have on mine 🙂

    I’m going to check out Stash and Burn and I can also recommend the podcasts called KnitCast by Maria Irshad. You can find them here: http://www.knitcast.com/

    BTW, Webs is two hours away from me so if you’re ever back in Boston we’ll take a roadtrip!!!

    I also listen to This American Life, News from Lake Wobegone and OF COURSE Threadbangers! Check out the BBC for great podcasts too.

    Joyce

    Reply

  2. Heather Narbit
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 20:35:55

    Oh, oh, oh! I never thought about Webs being so close to Boston. I will DEFINATELY keep that in mind!

    Thanks for the suggestions. I’m off to iTunes to add them in!

    It’s always fun to find out someone’s reading my blog who I didn’t know was looking. I was just reading your blog today. I try to catch up on everyone once a week.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

