Yarn shop review: Hill Country Weavers

While in Austin for Independence Day, some friends and I stopped by Hill Country Weavers. This yarn store did not disappoint! It’s been awhile since I’ve been overwhelmed by yarn, but it happened here. The store is large, and it feels full, but not too crowded. It has the staples like Debbie Bliss, tons of Noro, Plymouth, Cascade, Berroco, Lorna’s Laces. It also has some stuff that’s harder to find around here: Alchemy, Blue Sky, Claudia Hand Painted, and many expensive, luxury yarns I’ve never seen. I had just heard someone talking about how expensive ox yarn is because of how hard it is to harvest, and then I was able to see it in person; so soft.

HCW has some great bags, too. I was in search for a purse/knitting bag this week. I saw some Namaste bags on display last weekend (more soon), and it made me covetous. It also made me realize how much sense it makes to have a slightly larger purse with room for knitting since I’m so often toting an extra bag just for a small project I keep around to amuse me. Hill Country Weavers had several of the new Namaste bags, but not the one I was interested in. Nor did they carry Jordana Paige.

ETA: I lost the rest of this post. I was trying to fix a link. šŸ˜¦

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristen
    Jul 07, 2008 @ 08:21:00

    I have been to Austin pretty frequently, but never have had the time to stop at any of the LYSes. šŸ˜¦
    After your review of HCW, I think I will have to INSIST to my hubby that we block off some LYS time on our next trip to Austin.

    Reply

  2. Stacey
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 09:49:06

    Know of any yarn shops in the Lake Charles area? The best selection I’ve found so far is Hobby Lobby. Houston is a bit far to drive for yarn, are there any cool shops in Beaumont?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

