Lake Charles native beloved by Houston

debakey building tallI was so sad to hear the news of Dr. Michael DeBakey’s death last Friday. I never had the honor of meeting him, but when driving past one of the many buildings named for him, I’ve always bragged that we were from the same city. Houston did him right, bestowing on DeBakey the prestige of laying in repose in City Hall and then sponsoring a memorial service for him at the new cathedral. More than 1,800 people showed up to bid the surgeon, inventor, statesman and teacher farewell. It was touching to hear the tributes from his friends and colleagues.

 I got to cover the event for the American Press. It’s been a LONG time since I had a front-page byline, and I don’t think I’ve ever taken a photo for Page One. The media presence was amazing both at City Hall on Tuesday and at the church on Wednesday. On Tuesday, I ran into Mayor Roach and other local representatives as I was leaving. On Wednesday, I saw a Lake Charles TV reporter. It was inspiring to see how people from both of Dr. DeBakey’s homes – Lake Charles and Houston – went out of their way to offer condolences to the family and to show respect for the legendary surgeon who changed modern medicine.

More knitting news soon!

Leave a Reply

