Monkey Pride



I got a package from Blue Moon Fiber Arts the other day. I’ve been wanting to try their Socks That Rock line, so I ordered two skeins of lightweight in Pride. The yarn is sooo soft, and I love the way it’s spun. Touching it for the first time, I knew instantly why people love it so much. The handdyed colors are beautiful, too.

I began knitting it up right away. Cookie A’s design “Monkey” called to me (maybe because every sock knitter in the world has made a pair). It’s a quick knit and a nice pattern (it’ll look better blocked). I am disappointed with how the color has pooled, though. I’m so bad at judging how variegated yarns will look. I was hoping for a nice chunky rainbow, but instead got this mess. I don’t think it looks awful, but it’s not what I wanted.

This is only my second pair of socks (not counting a false start), and I’m realizing that I should swear off the variegated and stick to self-striping, semi-solids or solids. I also think it’s time to learn the two-at-a-time method on circular needles. I love my double-pointed needles, but it would be nice to finish both at the same time. Finishing the first sock feels like such an accomplishment, it’s hard to guard against Second Sock Syndrome!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. twistedtexan
    Aug 21, 2008 @ 21:49:12

    “Knitting Circles Around Socks” by Antje Gillingham is a really great book for learning 2 socks on 2 circs.

    Although I will tell you this, I have done socks on dpns and 2 socks on 2 circs and I prefer my dpns. The 2 socks on 2 circs felt like they took FOREVER! Who knew that I’d actually be faster on dpns?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

