What can you do with two skeins of yarn?

This! The shrug took just barely over one skein of my Kool-Aid yarn. If I followed the pattern exactly, it probably would’ve only needed one, but I added a bit of length to the sleeves and to the shrug overall. It was a bit of a guessing game since I was using a different gauge. It turned out exactly like I wanted, though! I’m thrilled with it!

The headband is Calorimetry, and I’ve wanted to knit this for a while. It was a really easy, quick knit. I don’t know how much I’ll need it around here, but it’s a fun piece. And I still have about half a skein of yarn left! I’m not sure if it’s enough for another Calorimetry, but I want to knit something else with it while I’m still excited about the colors! Suggestions?

FYI, I knit Calorimetry by the book, but I think I could’ve used less rows. Mine turned out really tall for some reason. I thought I had the right gauge, but I don’t think it looks too bad. It makes it look more like a hat from the front than a headband.

IMG_3748 IMG_3754

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. twistedtexan
    Sep 07, 2008 @ 12:26:37

    Your kool-aid dyed yarn turned out so great!! I really like the shrug.

    Reply

  2. Heather Narbit
    Sep 07, 2008 @ 12:37:36

    Thanks! I hope to wear it to knitting tomorrow! I don’t think my hubby took very flattering pictures, but I sucked up my pride and posted them anyway.

    Reply

  3. Soleta
    Sep 13, 2008 @ 16:00:26

    Very pretty. I love the colour!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

