Lake Charles knitting info

Thanks to Carole and Patricia, I have information on a knitting group in Lake Charles. Carole says there used to be a local yarn shop, but now some of the people who met there, meet at Joe Muggs in Books-a-Million on Ryan Street. Patricia ( on Ravelry) says the next meeting is Oct. 4, and that they meet every other Saturday from 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. Next time I’m in town, I hope to stop by and visit. Thanks for the great information, everyone!

I’ve made lots of progress on the camo blanket I’m making for my husband. It’s a huge acrylic monster, so it’s hard to want to knit on it. Sitting in a dark, warm house after the hurricane got me a few inches! It’s just too big now to take on a plane or bus, so it’s pretty much a home only project.

I was working on a Lace Capelet, but I misinterpreted the pattern in one key spot and cast on too tightly. So now I have over half a capelet that won’t fit over my shoulders and with an incorrect lace pattern. It doesn’t look bad, so I’m considering cutting the cast on edge and juryrigging something. I’ve never done something so potentially destructive, so I’ll keep you posted. I’m also thinking about putting this aside and casting on for Ice Queen with a ball of the same yarn … and possibly unraveling the capelet if I need more.

I’ve got some serious knitting ADD going on. With the blanket being so un-fun to knit, the capelet not working out well, and me not really wanting to work on anything else I have on the needles, I keep dreaming of what I wish I were knitting instead!

Leave a Reply

