Completely unsafe political post


YAAAAAAAAAAAYYYY!!!!! I woke up yesterday morning like I was in a Disney cartoon, singing and floating on air. I wish I had waited to vote on Election Day rather than early vote just to get that little bit of extra happiness. As it was, I was pretty thrilled all day long anyway.

I started the hat in that picture at 6 p.m. Central as polls began closing. The picture was taken at midnight just before I went to bed. We stayed up to see how some of the local races turned out. It was a mixed bag for us locally.

However, we watched the results with likeminded friends, and we were all thrilled when President Obama was named! We even received some phone calls from friends sharing in the joy! I ran outside with the friend I “kidnapped” last week and we looked around for other jubilant people. Nothing except a couple walking a dog. She shouted out, “Did you hear the news? It’s Obama!” The people were rather unexcitable, so their reaction was hard to judge. I pointed out to my friend that we were standing next to a rather large Obama sign in my yard, so they may not have felt entirely free to express themselves.

Our joy got stomped on pretty quickly. I should explain, that I am by no means a hard-core Democrat. I was raised in a fairly conservative home and have had drastically differing opinions over the course of my life. I’ve never voted a straight party ticket. During the primaries, I told many that if McCain got the Republican nomination, I’d consider voting for him, and I did consider it until he made some rather mind-blowing decisions. That’s one of the reasons that the reactions of some McCain supporters have so upset me.

As my friend arrived at her home last night, someone was in the middle of stealing her Obama yard sign. She and her husband followed the car until the thieves threw the sign out of the car window. I asked a woman at work today how she was doing (as I ask most of my coworkers most mornings unless I opt for “good morning” instead) and I got a loud political rant.

Really, people, let me sum it up for you. Everyone in this world wants what’s best for themselves and their children. We all want a place where our families can grow up in peace and prosperity with as little trouble as possible. We just disagree at times on how to reach that end. I completely respect other people’s opinions when delivered with reason and intelligence, and I even enjoy discussing different ideas. Neither political party wants to do us harm. And a politician is just a politician, we’re all going to disagree with them at some point in time, and they’re all going to make mistakes.

America’s survived some pretty bad stuff, and in no way does last night amount to a bad thing. Our democracy worked, and Americans picked the candidate they thought could best lead us through the next four years. The majority agreed on Barack Obama. Party changes happen, and the losing side always feels bad about it (I know, I’ve been there, I’ve voted for losers on both tickets). But please, can we respect each other a little bit and give each other some credit for hoping for a better tomorrow?

Leave a Reply

