The right tool for the job

I just got a new pizza cutter yesterday. When I pulled out our old one to throw it away, I couldn’t help but laugh. No wonder why we always had trouble cutting pizza with it! It’s tee-tiny!

I finished my sock club socks last night! I had bought new double-pointed needles to start them with, but I was sorely disappointed in the new needles. I try not to be negative, but I snapped two size 0’s Brittany birch needles within the first two inches of the first cuff. I’ve NEVER snapped a sock needle before. I bought these because I could only find four of my Clover Takumi bamboo needles, and I much prefer using five. The Brittany needles come in packs of six with a note about how such small needles are fragile, and that’s why the give you an extra. I should’ve known better.

After snapping the two needles, I made due with my four Takumi bamboo needles and they held up beautifully. Not having a LYS nearby sort of sucks, by the way. The only size 0’s I could find in the area were metal ones at JoAnn’s in a pack with other small sock size needles. Metal needles get sticky in my hands for some reason, so I always opt for wooden needles. The next time I’m at a shop, I’ll certainly grab some extra bambo needles!Having the right tools makes all the difference, doesn’t it? This is the quickest I’ve ever knit a pair of socks! I loved the pattern and was excited to see the finished product. I wore these to work today, and I’m in love with them!

IMG_4657
IMG_4654
IMG_4658

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Yolande
    Mar 10, 2009 @ 22:35:40

    They’re absolutely gorgeous! They look great on you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

