Still no knitting

IMG_4698Saturday was given to “cooking” (quotes explained in a second) and Sunday was given to gardening. All week, I’ve been too busy to knit except for a row here or there on the Auburn Camp Shirt.

Yesterday hubby and I got it in our heads to make gelato and cookies in order to make our own ice cream sandwiches. We used this recipe for the cookies and a recipe from this book for the gelato. And was it good, you ask? Check out Phil’s reaction. We’ve learned the best way to make ice cream sandwiches is to freeze them for a few hours before eating them. Otherwise you get a soupy, mushy mess with the freshly dipped ice cream. What was for dinner? Frozen pizza. Thus my above quotes. Cookies and gelato hardly constitues cooking.

IMG_4701

Today, I visited my thoughtful neighbor from a few houses down and picked up some plants she offered me. She half stocked our garden! This year we’ll be growing cucumbers, bell peppers, cayenne, jalapenos, tomatoes, strawberries and butternut squash. We also have the following herbs: basil, sage, rosemary, lavender and lemon balm. In fact, all but the basil survived the winter! The rosemary, lavender and lemon balm were so prolific I had to pot them to free up space in my garden.

I also went out in the rain to find a strawberry pot. My sequoia strawberry survived the winter and made itself a friend. Plus, it was so big, I divided it. Along with one pot of quinault strawberries I bought, the pot was nearly full! I plan to stick some pretty flowers in the top to round it out.

Any good garden tips out there? I’m basically a lucky novice still. What are you growing this spring?

IMG_4697

Leave a Reply

