Heather and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

It hasn’t been a children’s story over here. I’ve been cranky and upset all day (with good cause) despite catching up on laundry today and getting yardwork done yesterday. Just at the height of my peeve-ment, I realized my cell phone screen had gone blank. No calls will come or go. It’s dead, dead, dead. Thankfully, we had an old phone sitting around, but I don’t like it at all.

In the midst of licking my wounds, I realized where my knitting mojo had gone. I’m upset with everything I’m knitting right now. The Auburn Camp Shirt is slow going. I like the pattern, I like the yarn, I just detest such slow progress. The beret (Rav link because I couldn’t find a site) I’m making has stumped me with the power of math, so it’s in limbo until I can figure out how to translate worsted cables into chunky cables. The answer to the problem? Cast on something new! I pulled out a pattern, some yarn, and voila! I’m happy to be knitting again! Of course, I picked a pattern with chunky yarn that requires no algebra.* Hopefully I’ll see some quick progress!

*FYI, I feel I must dispell the “girls hate math” meme it seems I’m repeating. I don’t hate math, I hate that I didn’t think through the fact that the yarn picked wouldn’t work with the pattern. I fell into a bad pattern scenario because of my poor planning. I know I can do the math, I’m just dreading it because it won’t be easy converting the cables so drastically.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristen
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 13:25:08

    I think the answer to your problem is a Monday night CLACK fix.

    Reply

  2. Laura
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 16:35:27

    Face it, girls do hate math, LOL! Leave it up to math to ruin a perfectly great shirt. Sheesh.
    Good luck on the camp shirt. It’s so cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

