Secret no more



I knit a pair of socks for my husband! It took about two weeks to knit the first one for two reasons: (1) While it’s a nice manly ribbed pattern, the four-row repeat is essentially a two-row repeat with a variation and it’s mind-numbingly boring to continue for too long. (2) I was trying to hide them from him and not let him see me knitting them.

Then I realized our anniversary was getting very close. I knit the last sock in less than a week by sheer force of will and by understanding that even if he saw me knitting a large sock, he wouldn’t figure out it was for him. I seamed the toe the night before our anniversary.

Sure enough, after being very excited by the socks and trying them on, he asked if he’d seen me knitting them. I nodded. He couldn’t remember at all. It’s really easy to surprise some people.

The pattern is Retro Rib Socks from Favorite Socks and the yarn is Malabrigo Sock in Chocolate Amargo. They’re probably a little warm for a Third Coast summer, but the color and pattern are just right for a guy who wears brown socks with black shoes.

Unfortunately, those are my feet in the picture. He wasn’t around to model, so don’t hold the poor fit against me.

Anyone following the saga of my poor MacBook Pro, all is well. I took the lappy and battery into my local Apple Store and the Mac Genius grabbed me a new battery from the back for free. Apparently my laptop was part of the line that had those widespread problems with exploding batteries. I’m just glad I caught quickly after it happened.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Monica S.
    May 21, 2009 @ 12:56:04

    I love the look of those socks! They look so comfortable.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

