Edited to add



I’m not perfect. I’ve heard (and thought to myself) that other knitting bloggers are uber-knitters who can do no wrong. Most of them seek to dispel that myth at some point. Some, to my chagrin, do this by admitting very minor mistakes like how they were off one stitch here or there, etc. Being an occasional perfectionist, I understand, but mistakes of those caliber are not near the mistakes I make. I seek here, in one big post, to forever put to rest any rumors floating around that I’m a pro … assuming any of you may have that mistaken notion (those of you who knit with me surely don’t). I try not to only show my best work, but I have to admit it’s not fun admitting defeat.

Above, you see an original design. I was sooo excited when I felt this yarn, Mulberry Merino by Plymouth. It’s so soft, it’s decadent. I immediately decided to make a baby blanket for my newly adopted (and soon to arrive) godson even though it’s a horrible choice for a baby blanket (hand wash, a little sheady, but still sooo soft). He’s from Ethiopia, and he’s coming to live with his parents in Texas. There’s a single 5-point star on both of those flags. Wouldn’t a star-shaped baby blanket be amazing? A search of Ravelry turned up only crochet patters and a single knit pattern that was from the outside-in for a small pin-cushion. Since I couldn’t judge how much yarn I would need, this needed to be inside-out. I studied the crochet pictures and figured out a pattern. I’d just need to increase out on 5 set points and decrease in on 5 set points. But how do you continue to grow while decreasing and increasing? I came up with a 4-row solution that I thought would work. When I took it off the needles on Tuesday, I had this. It has a nice star shape to it, but even with some purling on the edge, the stockinette rolls (I should’ve done a rib on the edge). Even worse, there are obviously too many increases in the center and not enough on the edge. My husband called it a sombrero. I’m going to rip it apart and make the Star Light, Star Bright blanket instead. It’s hard to be as excited, though. Maybe I need to just pick up a crochet hook again … for the first time in 20 years.

IMG_4710

Second on our march through Fail Alley: my Sweet Pea Coat. This was one of the quickest knits I’ve ever done. The construction is amazingly creative. Do measure yourself before picking a size, though, even if you think you know. Since sizing is done by bust size, I used my bra-band size … which is not my actual bust size. I stitched up half of this and held it up to me to see that it’s tiny. It would probably fit on me, but the coat is supposed to be drapey, not tight to the skin. I’ve set it aside until I have the gumption to rip it apart and re-knit, because I really do want this coat!

IMG_4893

And finally for today, not a real failure, just an ongoing disappointment. My Auburn Camp Shirt is still chugging along. It’s just disappointing because it’s taking so long. I knit on it all day yesterday (in public) and it’s only grown 2 inches. I have another 4 inches before the next change in pattern. And this is just the back! I know the fronts will go faster, and it will eventually have to be over, but it’s not an exciting knit. I’m so sick of the k7, seeded rib. It would almost be better if it was plain stockinette because then it would be totally mindless. Instead, it requires just enough attention to remind you how boring it is. It will be beautiful, though, I’m sure. I’m knitting this one a size too small on purpose since I think it will stretch and a little negative ease will look good with it.

Sometimes mistakes are the only way you can learn. Sometimes they’re just annoying reminders that you don’t pay enough attention or aren’t as clever as you think you are. At least that’s how it works out for me. I’d love to hear any knitting-gone-wrong stories you have! And especially the tips and tricks they’ve taught you!

IMG_3751

Oh, I thought of another semi-failure. My Anthropologie-Inspired Shrug stretched out insanely after washing. I dyed this yarn, so I’m still attached. I think this is yet another thing I’m going to rip out and reknit. Even looking at this original photo, it seems like it began a little too big (see how far below my neckline it falls). My finishing excitement clouded my judgment.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. twistedtexan
    Jun 14, 2009 @ 13:13:17

    Thanks for the tour of Fail Alley. Let me know if you need any moral support for all that frogging. I’ve also had a few epic fails – the bulletproof scarf, the crazily saggy rivendell socks, the spriral boot socks that amazingly ceased to spiral past a certain point… You’re in good company.

    Reply

  2. Heather Narbit
    Jun 14, 2009 @ 13:28:01

    That’s good to hear. Fail finds us all sometimes. 🙂

    I may indeed need a shoulder to cry on once I start ripping! I think most of these will have to wait until July. If I get a second wind today, I may start on the baby blanket, though.

    Reply

  3. Margie
    Nov 17, 2009 @ 14:51:12

    Hi your garments are beautiful, I would like to knit something simple and easy has to be easy for me I don’t have a lot of experience. DO you have any suggestions for short and simple projects,for holiday given for a lady and a guy between the ages of 45-50. Have a great day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

