Wisconsin Yarn Crawl

I’m in Wisconsin for a wedding this weekend. I was pretty excited to see a wind farm south of Fond du Lac! It was amazing in scope! I was kind of unprepared despite having seen models and actual blades before. To see a few dozen scattered on the landscape was amazing. It sort of reminded me of oil derricks in Texas … except graceful. (I actually saw a Wisconsin license plate today that said “I MS TX.”)

This afternoon, I went on a mini-yarn crawl. I took 41 north to Appleton and visited Iris Fine Yarns. I was a little disappointed by the size when I stepped in, but was quickly told that there was another room in the back plus a reading library! It was a charming little place with a great selection of high quality yarn: Rowan, Louet, Blue Sky Alpaca, Debbie Bliss, Cascade, Koigu, Lorna’s Laces, etc. I came home with two skeins of Koigu. Be Sweet Yarn was the one thing I saw there that was new to me. They have some really interesting novelty yarns. They also had lots of Habu in the back, but I can’t get over how un-soft it is every time I see it. Pineapple fiber is appealing to me, though.

I was ready to head home after that, but as I headed south I remembered that my research turned up a store in Neenah, which I was driving through. I pulled over and used hubby’s iPhone to see how close it was. TWO MILES AWAY! It was fate that I’d picked just the right exit, too! Yarns by Design was HUGE, and then I found out they also had a back room! That’s where they keep the sale yarn and the spinning/weaving supplies! I came home with a few ounces of brown cashmere for my drop spindle. Every bag of fiber I opened was softer than the next! I barely talked myself out of a skein of Handmaiden Sea Silk, but at $39 I couldn’t really justify it even though I know it’s worth every penny. YBD had a very different stock but with some of the same basics (BSA,Louet, Cascade, Lorna’s). The find there that I’d never seen before was Lucy Neatby‘s yarn!

So, all in all, I had a great tour of the west Lake Winnebago area and met some really nice yarn sellers. I also managed to spend less than a skein’s worth of sea silk. I highly recommend both stores if you’re in the area. I was also told at YBD that there’s a great shop in Fond du Lac if I head back south.

I’m looking forward to our friends’ wedding on Saturday! We should have a fun weekend!

(Sorry no pictures, left my monster camera at home. Sorry I didn’t find all the links for the yarn above, but the hotel has one of the slower connections I’ve used in the past few years.)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. twistedtexan
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 06:49:45

    I love a good yarn crawl. Sounds like yours was a lot of fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

