Dyelots are Deceiving

I’ve finished the back of my Auburn Camp Shirt! I still had yarn to spare from my first skein of Malabrigo Lace, so I used it to cast on for the right front. I was about halfway through the front when I needed to tie on another ball of yarn. I had two more skeins waiting to be called in, all the same dyelot, all purchased at the same time.

I picked it up and knitted on for two days before I looked down and noticed a clear line where the new yarn started. It’s as if the saturation reversed from below where it was dark with light highlights to being light with dark highlights. It’s not apparent in all lighting, but pretty obvious in full sun and quite stark when you know where to look.

So, now I’m going to rip this out and cast on with the new yarn. I’ll leave the bottom half in tact and frog it for a sleeve or something. This is the last project I want to rip out! Progress has been so slow because of the tiny gauge. Thankfully, though, the front worked up in less than a week because of the fewer stitches. I think this will be done by the end of the year. I hope.

IMG_5327

Meanwhile, I was finally able to give my star blanket to its intended recipient! Here are some pictures of the finished project, the first thing I’ve crocheted in years (other than some granny squares)! I had photos of it blocking, but my camera corrupted all of those pix. 😦

IMG_5323

IMG_5321

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Debra I
    Oct 20, 2009 @ 18:02:42

    Don’t know if anyone’s mentioned, but you can still use that lighter ball of yarn if you alternate rows with another. In such a small gauge, alternating every 2 rows shouldn’t give you stripes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

