Christmas knitting revisited

I can finally show you my Christmas knitting and related gifts. First of all, here is something I kept for myself and something I shared:

IMG_5544

Those are yarn bowls I had made by a local pottery artist. The potter makes all kind of amazing items, so I almost felt bad when I went to her with this simple request. She did an amazing job! They turned out better than I could’ve imagined. I only have one note for future requests, and that is that the hooks face the same direction so that if you’re using two skeins the yarn is pulled evenly when the bowl is set in front of you. They still work wonderfully, though. One was for me, one was for my mom and one was for my mother-in-law (hi Ann!). Both moms are crocheters.

Here’s a photo demonstrating them in use. They keep your yarn from rolling all over, and they also make your projects look like art while they’re in progress:

IMG_5547

Here’s the Flower Basket Shawl I made for my mom from BMFA Laci while it was blocking on my bathroom floor:

IMG_5560

And I just realized I didn’t take a picture of the Felt Clogs I made for my dad. (This was an Evelyn Clark kind of Christmas.) His clogs needed a little more felting, so they weren’t 100% done because I wanted to be sure they fit perfectly. I even bought some FiberTrends soles for them! I went for the two-piece because I knitted the bottoms this time.

My Christmas was great! I got lots of neat toys, books and amusements. My next post should be a list of the knitting-related gifts I received! What was your favorite gift given or received?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristen
    Dec 28, 2009 @ 18:56:21

    Your yarn bowls are beautiful, as is the flower basket shawl! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Donna Carrick
    Jan 09, 2010 @ 16:43:18

    Lovely site, recommended to me by my Twitter friend @herstorian . I do love both the yarn bowls and the shawl, so elegant!
    Have fun!
    Donna Carrick
    @Donna_Carrick
    @dcarrickcrafts

    Reply

Leave a Reply

