I'm With CoCo

So what was the secret birthday present I was crocheting? A Conan O’Brien doll! There’s definitely art involved with amigurumi. I think the original that the pattern designer made is a little cuter than mine, but the pattern was wonderfully detailed. Little Conan went on a ride with me to pick out his eyes. Then he was seated into a gift bag to go meet Stephanie, who’s promised to take him to see real-life Conan on his upcoming comedy tour.

This pattern made me laugh as soon as I saw it. The beard and coat are both removable. I couldn’t find a good flesh-colored yarn, so this Conan is extra albino-ish. All the more realistic, maybe.

I’m no good at surprises. I get too excited and want to tell, so I was proud that I kept this hidden from Steph for a whole two weeks. I kept cracking up every time I imagined her seeing him.

IMG_5844
IMG_5848
What did I get for my birthday? A spinning wheel!!!

Here’s Hubby putting it together:
photo(3)

Here’s Hubby trying his hand at spinning:
photo(2)

And here’s a very dark photo of my first yarn (from this roving in a green colorway):
photo

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kristen
    Apr 11, 2010 @ 20:53:48

    Hee! I love the little Conan amigurumi. 🙂

    Congrats on the spinning wheel! It’s lovely… almost as lovely as mine. LOL.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

