Catching up

You may be wondering about the lack of craft-related posts as of late. I was trying to finish up the vacation posts and keep them in a block, but I also haven’t been knitting nearly as much as usual. I barely picked up my needles in France (good thing I didn’t overpack my supplies like usual) and I’ve only finished one knitting project since getting home: Clandestine. I did crochet a few cupcakes for friends’ birthday and work on my Babette Blanket a bit.

IMG_6587

IMG_6568

Last night I finished my first single on my spinning wheel. I should’ve stopped there, but I wanted to try Navajo plying. Ick, it was a disaster! My single was fairly consistent, and I think an excellent effort by a newbie. Once plied, it sort of turned into slop. My one consolation is that it’s pretty well balanced. I don’t know where the big slubby unspun piece came from, though.

IMG_6600

IMG_6602

This morning, I was cleaning out our closet and decided to use a technique I’d seen on Stefanie Japel’s blog. Now I have 34 yards of t-shirt yarn! My t-shirt wasn’t seamless, so I modified her instructions and just cut back and forth on each side of my shirt. It made for some extra thickness wherever I turned, but I just thinned that out with my scissors as I skeined it. It’s not perfect, but it was fun.

IMG_6605

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristen
    Jun 26, 2010 @ 22:42:45

    Yay! Looks like you’re gearing up for the Tour de Fleece!

    Reply

  2. Cay Gibson
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 22:54:41

    Love the cupcakes! Sweet! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

