Viva la fleece!

The Tour de Fleece is in full swing now. Participating spinners set a goal and set out to spin every single day of the Tour de France. My goal is to spin the 6-ish ounces of purple tussah silk/merino that I’ve had sitting around since January. I also decided to try using my spinning wheel in double drive. I didn’t do any research to see if this is better/worse for this kind of fiber. I just wanted to try something new. Double drive seems a lot less fiddly in all honesty, but the fiber gets drawn a little faster than I was used to in single.

I finished two projects last week, but I haven’t taken any photos yet. One of my projects was too small before blocking, one just right. The one that was too small blocked out just like I’d hoped and is now fine. The one that was just right blocked out much bigger and is hopelessly large. I’m so disappointed because it was perfect before being washed. I loved it so much. I wish I’d taken a picture first. Since it was a relatively quick knit, I think I’m going to disassemble it and try again once my will recovers.

My backyard got a face lift last week. Now that the extraneous trees are gone, we’ve got to look at replacing two of the fences and the lame patio.

Before

After

Before

After

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristen
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 08:28:28

    How are you finding the merino silk? I’ve discovered that I don’t really like spinning silk because it’s so hard for me to draft.

    Reply

  2. Heather Narbit
    Jul 10, 2010 @ 11:47:23

    The silk sheds like crazy. It covered my black skirt in fuzz the other day. It is hard to draft. I’m not sure I’d use it again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

