In which I decide this blog will have lots less knitting content

The other day, I was thinking about how I needed to blog, and I realized I was dreading it. I dreaded it because it meant taking pictures, uploading them, tagging them, then writing a blog post and linking to those pictures. It’s not just writing, it’s logistics. Sometimes I want to just sit down and write. About things that are important to me.

For instance, I exercised a lot today. I’m exhausted and redfaced. I did a triathlon a few years back, but my swimming’s pretty bad and the only upcoming triathlon is far too close for me to consider. I’m toying with the idea of a duathlon. There’s one this fall that requires a 2 mile run, 12 mile bike ride, 2 mile run. I haven’t ridden a bike since that tri 5 years ago, so I’m working on that first. Today I rode to my neighborhood pool where I swam a few laps, then sat to dry a little. I hopped on the bike, then tooled around the neighborhood until I was ready to fall over. I’m trying to build up my “share the road” confidence and briefly ventured onto one busy street. I bailed on another, though, and stuck to the sidewalk.peach

So now I’m sitting here on the couch drinking my Peachee and thinking about what I’d like this blog to become. I enjoy thoughtful conversations with thoughtful people about all kinds of things: crafts, books, movies, food, politics, travel. The blogs I enjoy reading most aren’t controversial. No one whacks you over the head with what they think, but they do inspire thought. And laughter. And creativity.

I’m going to give myself permission to write about something other than knitting when I want to. As has probably been evident sometimes, I’ve forced myself to write about yarn previously when I wasn’t that excited about it. But many of the best knitting blogs contain little in the way of knitting content. So I’m not going to fret anymore. I’ll let the spirit take me where it does, and hopefully I’ll flex my writing muscles a little along the way.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Phivan Wright
    Sep 04, 2010 @ 10:54:16

    Heather, I was looking for a link to your Komen for the Cure donation site and found your blog instead, and just got lost in it, which was delightful. Not knowing a thing about knitting, I hadn’t checked it out before, but I’m excited to read that you’re branching out, and I’m bookmarking it so I can come back often. I love your writing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

